Learn about the continuing education requirements or CEUs you’ll need to renew your professional license in dentistry.
State of Massachusetts Dental Board Renewal
The Massachusetts Dental Board License renewal process is not to miss if you want to keep practicing in the state. The Board requires that all licensees must renew their licenses every two years between January and April.
Dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants must renew their licenses every 2 years. Before renewing your license, you must complete a certain number of continuing education units, or CEUs.
- Dentists must complete a minimum of 40 CEUs each 2-year renewal cycle
- Dental hygienists must complete a minimum of 20 CEUs each 2-year renewal cycle
- Dental assistants must complete a minimum of 12 CEUs each 2-year renewal cycle
You can check more information about the renewal form here: Renewal Information
State of Rhode Island Continuing Education:
To keep licensing current, Dentists are required to have 40 Continuing Education credits every two years and Dental Hygienists need 20 credits every two years. Infection Control is needed yearly and your CPR certification needs to be up to date.
As of February 2017, dentists with a Schedule II DEA license are required by the state of Rhode Island to have eight (8) hours of continuing education on topics such as appropriate prescribing for pain; pharmacology; potential for dependence; and alternatives to opioids for pain management. This requirement is only needed once per career and must be completed before renewal of controlled substance registration or two (2) years, whichever is longer.
The Rhode Island Dental Association provides enough CE hours to keep licensing up to date!
Click here for the Department of Health's Dentistry Licensing website.
Always check with your own state 's
dental licensing board for up-to-date information
about your licensure status, CEU requirements and other obligations for renewal.